Pitch Wars 2017 Mentee Hopeful Bio

Well that’s a mouthful of a title. My apologies. I’ll keep the rest of this short and sweet.

About my Pitch wars MS:

The Burn Kingdom is a dark, ownvoice YA fantasy based on the Mexican/Bolivian myth of the weather controlling Acalica– Except instead of wizened old men, my Acalica are Mother Nature’s daughters, created to end the world. I usually pitch it as Elly Blake’s FROSTBLOOD meets Zoraida Cordova’s LABYRINTH LOST. My characters spend a lot of time fighting, making fire magic, and honestly, there’s a fair bit of kissing. Because I love love, okay?!?!?!

So in gif form, expect some of this:

Fighting.gif

And this:

Fire.gif

And this:

kissing

What a mentor can expect from me as a mentee:

Many years as a theater student taught me a couple of things about creating art. Things like, you have to work long hours and hit your deadlines, sometimes you have to try again and again to perfect something, and it’s okay to make mistakes as long as you’re okay with being called out on them and will do your best to improve. My go-to phrase is, “Thanks, I’ll fix it.”

So call me Felix.

Felix

 

What I hope to get from a mentor, in bullet point format, because why not.

*Someone who loves my story enough to help me rip out the weak parts and make it stronger.

*Someone who will help me add to my writer tool box, so I can improve in the long run, and not just this manuscript.

*Someone who’s not afraid to hit me with blunt, honest, and necessary feedback. I have a thick skin, so I promise I can take it.

*And I’d love if we could be friends long after the contest, because friends are the best. (Even if they have to rip out the spine of your book to help you fix it.)

Owl

*I really wanted a Friendship is Magic gif, but I fell in love with this owl and his sass so you get that instead.*

So what do you think? Maybe I’m the mentee for you…

wink

 

Leave a Reply

